The Board of Deputies is the only democratically elected, cross-communal, representative body in the Jewish community.   It comprises nearly 300 deputies directly elected by synagogues and communal organisations, from youth movements, to social welfare charities and regional councils.

In addition, there are also a number of under-35 observers, appointed by synagogues and organisations to supplement their representation and to ensure that a new generation of communally minded activists can contribute to our work on behalf of the community.

Each synagogue and institution elects one or more Deputy, depending on the size of that particular body, with elections occurring every three years.

Honorary Officers

Deputies elect five Honorary Officers who comprise a President, Senior Vice President, two Vice Presidents and Treasurer.   It is these officers, along with staff, who represent the Board of Deputies to external stakeholders. For biographies on the current Honorary Officers, please see the ‘Meet the Honorary Officers‘ page. 


Strategy and scrutiny of the Board of Deputies is in part dealt with by the divisions to which deputies can be elected. Each division is headed by one of the Honorary Officers. The divisions are as follows:

  • Defence & Interfaith Relations Division
  • International Division
  • Communities & Education Division
  • Financial & Organisation Division

The day-to-day work and professional advocacy and project implementation of the Board of Deputies is carried out by a dedicated team headed by a Chief Executive. For more information, please see the ‘Meet the Staff‘ page.